Mucous Plug is Out!

Day: 40+3

Before we headed to bed, the babies were moving soooo actively, that I had a hard time falling asleep. But nothing happened during the night,  I was really thirsty and drank so much water, at 2:30am I woke up and almost finished half a watermelon. When I got up this morning, I was pretty tired, however, the rain cooled the temperature down drastically and it was so comfortable that Michael and I decided to take a walk. After the walk we went to Apex to have the oil change on the car, then I felt like I couldn’t keep my eyes open any more, I barely finished my breakfast and went straight to bed since my back was really achy. When I woke up around 11:30am, I thought I had a big leak but it turned out to be the mucous plug!

We were very excited, and called Audrey, she said usually labor would start within 24 hours after the plug is out…it was indeed good news. We will meet up with her for dinner tonight and talk more about the details! Mom, Michael and I went to Lowe’s and got a brand new filer that takes our allergen including pet dander (dust and dander are the main cause of infant allergy), then we went to La Shish for lunch. The waitress there we met before had her baby after 42 weeks, her doc wanted to induce her but she waited…her baby girl turned out to be 7 lbs 8 oz, I guess she was not big enough to come out at 40 weeks – there’s always a reason! My body felt so heavy and my back felt so achy, I could barely walk (I bet I look funny to other people) – how amazing our body reacts!!!

7 Comments

Filed under Third Trimester

7 responses to “Mucous Plug is Out!

  1. Callie

    Cynthia, It sounds like you are close. Good luck! I know you will do just fine. You are an inspiration to all twin moms out there!

  2. You’ve all but done it! Either today or tomorrow! Maybe July 1 – did you know that’s Canada Day? I know several people with July 1 birthdays and they are all outstanding in many ways, likely just a nice coincidence but it’s such a great pleasure to know them.

    Hope you’re feeling comfortable and nourishing yourself lightly, light yogurt, fruit, etc. Do you remember Ina May’s story of the mother who got to full dilation and right after she came out of her transition reaction asked her husband for a big tablespoon of peanut butter which she then washed down with about a quart of raspberry leaf tea, then went on to push out a big baby boy. I laughed over Ina May’s comment, “I was impressed”.

    Hope you’re well stocked up on PB and RL tea. I’ making myself thirsty – I make it all summer, add a little mint and honey, ice it and voilà, a queenly beverage for sure. Kingly too! You could share some with Michael. Fascinating that RL T has a component that enables better use of calcium, the mineral for best muscle contraction, helps greatly with uterine contractions.

    Maurene

  3. michele

    You are almost there!! I’m SURE you are even more excited than we are over here in Switzerland. Remember take deep breaths and listen to the midwife;)

  4. Kim

    You know something, as bad as your back is hurting, you may already be in labor.

  5. Erin Henry

    Just to be contrary, the ferning test can give false positive results if it is contaminated with cervical mucous (ie, maybe your mucus plug is what has been leaky).
    http://labmed.ucsf.edu/labmanual/mftlng-mtzn/dnld/poct-FernTesting.pdf
    Especially if they didn’t confirm with a nitrazine swab, and both tests were done with a speculum, I would remain unconvinced that your amniotic fluid is actually leaking. Ina May has said that near term women are often “juicy”–and quarter-sized spots are small for amniotic leaks. You guys are on very firm ground, even if you have a high leak, anyway. I hope it will all be moot soon as you’ll be in labor, and that you get your dream team for delivery tomorrow.
    As Kim says, keep an eye out for your backache to come and go in waves… 🙂
    Erin

  6. Kim

    Dying to hear your birth story! Hoping everything went well and that everybody is doing good!

  7. Michele

    Yes, we too are eager to hear how it went and how you and the boys are recovering!! Those little tigers are almost one week old now!!

Leave a Reply

