May North Island Tour – Napier & Hastings

If I could I would move to the twin city, not because I have twins, because Napier and Hastings have the best things for a healthy living as a haven for wine and food. Hawkes Bay area was famous for the fruit farms, many of them are organic, but now it’s the biggest wine production base in New Zealand. For me as a vegetarian, the Chantal Organics in Napier, and Taste Cafe along with Cornucopia Organic Shop in Hastings alone are a good reason for us to live there.

Our accommodation this time was at Hill Top on Bluff Hill, it’s a beautiful property not too far from the city center but it is on a hill. We had our garage which was lovely and the house was very toddler friend, Adele had lots of toys in the closet so boys had a ball. We also had a hot tub which aunt enjoyed very much. The whole house is very modern, equipped. Linens are superb, there’s really nothing to complain when we have the view of the bay! It’s so nice I extended the stay for one more night. Unfortunately the only downside is on Bluff Hill I got disoriented one night driving (luckily by myself) after a shopping trip and turned into the dead end one lane Thompson Road, with a push chair on the back, no street lights, I hit someone’s pipe when I tried to back up. I left a note in their mail box the next morning since no one was home and I couldn’t find anyone in the house next door. They emailed me back and said no worries just a week ago and said it’s all repaired and thanked me for the note and offer to pay for the damage…New Zealanders are amazing!

We visited the Sat Farmer’s Market in Napier, and Sunday Farmer’s Market in Hastings. Needless to say, filled up the car with all sorts of heavenly foods. Boys played at Marine Parade playground, also at the Cornwall Park playground right next to the Cornwall Playcentre  in Hastings! We had the best vegan burger from Taste Cafe in Hastings. We also visited the Mission Estate Winery, had a lovely dinner, boys had so much fun playing on the big lawn overlooking the vineyard. Staff was friendly, food was fabulous, and my aunt did the wine tasting. I can’t wait to go back already!

P.S. Picture of the lamb was for my aunt…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2nd year

Leave a Reply

